Ministry of Cultural Affairs of Russian Federation State Museum and Exhibition Center ROSIZO State Tretyakov Gallery State Russian Museum
Born in the spirit. Baptism of Russia and the triumph of Christian faith
Under the Virgin Mother’s Protection
Patrons and instructors. Veneration of saints in Russia and Russian saints.
Light in the wilderness. Monasteries in Russia
The Earthly Kingdom and the Heavenly Kingdom
Holy objects in everyday life
Heaven on Earth. Inside a Russian Orthodox Church
Heaven on Earth. Inside a Russian Orthodox Church

So a church is the house of God, though built of inanimate material: for it’s consecrated by divine grace and made holy by prayer. And after this it’s unlike other houses, for it’s sanctified from the earth to God and made rich by its Inhabitant; in him is its glory, strength and grace… Even inanimate objects in a church have beneficent powers: water, stones, pillars, shrouds and chains. They don’t act of their own accord — for how could they, being insentient creations of God, powerless in themselves? — but by the grace God confers on them from above and by the name of God pronounced upon them, for the sake of our sanctification. Wherever the name of God is invoked — and the Holy all-creating Trinity, for God is one — there all is sacred, all is efficacious, all heals and saves through grace.

Simeon of Thessalonica,
On the Holy Church and Its Consecrat ion

Those objects, which were kept in the interior of an Orthodox Church and used during religious service, symbolically reflected the principle ideas of Christian faith. This is why their decoration and beauty was a subject of extreme importance.

The last section of the exhibition includes iconostases and icons, church plate and books, the precious robes of the clergy. Among the liturgical vessels we may note a jasper chalice, commissioned in 1329 by Archbishop of Novgorod Moisei; a Communion Bread Plate donated to the Archangel Cathedral of the Moscow Kremlin in memory of Tsar Feodor Ivanovich; several holy water cups. The ceremonial attire of Metropolitan Iona Sysoyevich, created in 1665 in the Stroganov workshops, is particularly striking.

Министерство культуры Российской Федерации Государственный Музейно-выставочный центр «РОСИЗО» Государственная Третьяковская галерея Государственный Русский музей
Рождение в духе. Крещение Руси и утверждение христианской веры
Под покровом Богородицы
Заступники и наставники. Почитание святых на Руси и русские святые
Свет в пустыне. Монастыри на Руси
Земное царство и Царствие Небесное
Святое в повседневном
Небо на земле. Русский православный храм
Небо на земле. Русский православный храм

Итак, храм есть дом Божий, хотя и устрояется из неодушевленных веществ: ибо освящается он божественною благодатью и священнодейственными молитвами. И после этого не похож на другие домы, но от земли освящен Богу; богат самим Обитателем; в нем и слава Его, и сила, и благодать… Оказывают благотворные действия и бездушные вещи, находящиеся в храмах: вода, камни, столбы, покровы, цепи. Они действуют не сами по себе, ибо как они могут действовать, будучи бездушными тварями Божьими, не могущими сами по себе ничего? — но низводимою на них благодатию Божиею и призываемым на них божественным именем, ради нашего освящения. Где только совершается призывание имени Божия и создавшей все блаженной Троицы, — потому что един Бог: там все свято, все действенно, врачует и спасает благодатию.

Симеон Солунский
О святом храме и освящении его

Предметы, входившие в убранство православного храма и использовавшиеся в богослужениях, в символических формах раскрывали главное содержание христианского вероучения – отсюда подчеркнутое внимание к их оформлению и художественному совершенству.

В последнем разделе выставки представлены иконостасы и иконы, богослужебная утварь и книги, драгоценные облачения священнослужителей. Среди литургических сосудов – яшмовый потир, исполненный в 1329 году по заказу новгородского архиепископа Моисея, тарель, вложенная в Архангельский собор Московского Кремля в память о царе Федоре Ивановиче, водосвятные чаши. Высочайшим совершенством отмечены торжественные одеяния митрополита Ионы Сысоевича, созданные в строгановских мастерских в 1665 году.