Ministry of Cultural Affairs of Russian Federation State Museum and Exhibition Center ROSIZO State Tretyakov Gallery State Russian Museum
Born in the spirit. Baptism of Russia and the triumph of Christian faith
Under the Virgin Mother’s Protection
Patrons and instructors. Veneration of saints in Russia and Russian saints.
Light in the wilderness. Monasteries in Russia
The Earthly Kingdom and the Heavenly Kingdom
Holy objects in everyday life
Heaven on Earth. Inside a Russian Orthodox Church
Light in the wilderness. Monasteries in Russia

“Instead of bodily comfort, they sought great labors and suffering; instead of sleep, they took standing vigil; instead of mirth, they sought the weeping that brings joy; and instead of the company of men, they sought an eternal conversation with God. And, as if ascending by rungs, they came nearer to Him day by day, always saying: ‘My heart is ready, God, my heart is ready!’ For they did not turn their hearts to words of deception, and their heads were not anointed with the oils of sinners, but they instead followed the example of those ancient men who were worthy in the eyes of God, who wore sheepskin and goatskin coats, who experienced daily deprivation, who wailed in sorrow, who suffered greatly, who wandered in the deserts, the mountains, the hollows, and the gorges of this earth in service to the Lord and praising the Lord with all their body. And this is why God praised them, as it is written: ‘Those who praise Me, I will praise’.”

Pachomius Logothete
Life of the Venerable Cyr i l of Belozersk

Possibly the most striking example of the popularity of Christian ideals in Russian lands was monastic life in all it varied forms – from large religious houses with numerous inhabitants, which appeared in cities or became the centers of new towns, to lonely forest hermitages, where people were expected to immerse themselves in contemplation and in continuous silent prayer. The crucial role was played here not by the exterior beauty of the monastery buildings or the precious ecclesiastical paraphernalia – these often looked quite modest, - but by the interior structure of the establishment as an ideal model of a Christian community, and, particularly, what mattered was the character of the brethren themselves, whose efforts were aimed at reaching an angelic image and angelic existence.

Early Russian painters were trying to convey this very essence of life in religious houses in depicting the images of holy monks, who were founders of famous monasteries, such as Varlaam of Khoutyn, Sergi of Radonezh, Kirill Belozerski, Dimitri of Priluk, Zosima and Savvati of Solovki. The exhibition shows their illuminated Lives, as well as icons, representing monastic instruction and the miracles of the famous ascetics.

Министерство культуры Российской Федерации Государственный Музейно-выставочный центр «РОСИЗО» Государственная Третьяковская галерея Государственный Русский музей
Рождение в духе. Крещение Руси и утверждение христианской веры
Под покровом Богородицы
Заступники и наставники. Почитание святых на Руси и русские святые
Свет в пустыне. Монастыри на Руси
Земное царство и Царствие Небесное
Святое в повседневном
Небо на земле. Русский православный храм
Свет в пустыне. Монастыри на Руси

…Вместо телесного покоя предпочли они великие труды и страдания, вместо сна — всенощное стояние, вместо веселья — доставляющий радость плач и вместо людских разговоров — всегдашнюю беседу с Богом. И к Нему, словно по неким ступеням, день от дня приближаясь, всегда говорили они: Готово сердце мое, Боже, готово сердце мое! Ибо не обратили они сердец своих к словам лукавства, и елей грешников не помазал их головы, но подражали они тем древним Богу угодившим мужам, ходившим в овчинах и козьих шкурах, ежедневно испытывая лишения, скорбя, тяжко страдая, скитаясь в пустынях, горах и ущельях, в пропастях земных служа Господу и в своих членах Господа прославляя. За это и Бог их прославил, согласно написанному: Прославляющих Меня прославлю.

Пахомий Логофет
Житие преподобного Кирилла
Белозерского

Едва ли не самым ярким воплощением христианских идеалов на Руси стала монашеская жизнь во всем ее многообразии – от больших многолюдных обителей, которые строились в городах или сами вызывали появление вокруг себя новых городов, до уединенных лесных скитов, предназначенных для созерцания и непрерывной безмолвной молитвы. Решающее значение здесь имела не внешняя красота монастырских храмов и их драгоценного убранства – они нередко бывали весьма скромными, – а именно внутреннее устроение обители как идеальный образ христианского общежития, и главное – сами насельники, подвиг которых имел своей целью достижение ангельского образа и ангельского жития.

Именно эту суть монашеского служения попытались передать средневековые художники в образах преподобных отцов, основателей прославленных русских обителей – Варлаама Хутынского, Сергия Радонежского, Кирилла Белозерского, Дмитрия Прилуцкого, Зосимы и Савватия Соловецких,. На выставке представлены и их иллюстрированные жития, а также иконы, иллюстрирующие монашеские поучения и чудеса прославленных подвижников.